The Box

Lorenzo Vigas

Original title: La Caja

Hatzín (Hatzín Navarrete), a young Mexican, travels to collect the remains of his deceased father, found in a common grave in the deserted landscape of northern Mexico. On his way home, an unexpected encounter with a man similar to his father, Mário (Hernán Mendoza), gives hope to the young man, who, questioning his father's death, insists on not leaving Mário. The meeting marks the beginning of an emotional relationship between the two, shrouded in moral dilemmas and serving as a political exposé of Latin America’s fragile work conditions.

Directed by Lorenzo Vigas, The Box (2021) is the last chapter of the trilogy Elephants Never Forget (2004) and From Afar (2015) dedicated to the absence of the father figure, an indelible trace in Latin American identity.

  • Duration: 92
  • Production year: 2021
  • Country: United States of America, Mexico
  • Subtitles: Subtitles: EN, PT

Venice Film Festival – Leoncino d'Oro Agiscuola Award, Competition Official Selection

Lorenzo Vigas