One of the most important sections of the event allowing the discovery of new creators.
  • Special events

The International Meeting of Cinema Schools takes place annually at the Lisbon & Sintra Film Festival and proves to be one of the most important sections of the event, allowing the discovery of new creators and the discussion of different visions and forms of teaching in this area.
With the presence of students and teachers from the largest film schools in the world, each school presents, in sessions open to the public, its most representative films. Following is the discussion and evaluation by an international jury composed of great personalities of cinema and the arts, and responsible for the award of the Best Short Film Award.

The Meeting will take place on November 21st and 22nd at Espaço Nimas.

Guest Schools
The La Fémis (École Nationale Supérieure des Métiers de l'Image et du Son, previously called the Institut des Hautes Études Cinematographique) is one of the most prestigious french film schools, based in Paris. Not only did many directors graduate from this institution but are also internationally recognised today, such as the portuguese Paulo Rocha, François Ozon, André Téchiné, Claire Denis, Costa-Gavras, Andrzej Żuławski or Arnaud Desplechin, and also turned out to win, for ten times, the highest awards from the main festivais: the Palme d’Or in Cannes Film Festival, the Golden Lion of the Venice Film Festival, and the Golden Bear from the Berlinale. From the honourable list of alumni of La Fémis there are still incorporated two of the most celebrated european filmmakers - Alain Resnais and Theo Angelopoulos.

Universidade Lusófona de Humanidades e Tecnologias is a prestigious institution in the fields of cinematographic and audiovisual training in Portugal . In this area, in addition to the degrees in Film and Video and Multimedia Communication, the Department of Cinema and Media Arts also includes the Masters in Film Studies and in Documentary (Erasmus Mundus Masters - "Docnomads"), "Kino Eyes - The European Movie Masters "in partnership with Edinburgh Napier University and the Baltic Film School, funded entirely by the European Commission.

The Russian State University of Cinematography (VGIK) is the world’s oldest film school, founded in 1919 by Lev Kuleshov and Vladimir Gardin, pioneer Russian filmmakers. Sergei Eisenstein, Alexander Dovzhenko and Vsevolod Pudovkin taught at VGIK during different periods of its history. Some of VGIK’s alumni are Andrei Tarkovsky, Otar Iosseliani, Sergei Parajanov, Larisa Shepitko, Andrei Konchalovsky, Nikita Mikhalkov, Sergei Loznitsa, Marlen Khutsiev and Elem Klimov.

Participating Schools

Escola Superior de Teatro e Cinema, Portugal 
Universidade Católica Portuguesa - Escola Das Artes,
UBI - Universidade da Beira Interior, Portugal 
Escola Superior de Artes e Design das Caldas da Rainha - Instituto Politécnico de Leiria,
Escola Superior Artística do Porto, 
Centro Sperimentali Di Cinematografia, 
The Polish National Film Television And Theater, LODZ, 
Polónia ECAM - Escuela de Cinematografía y del Audiovisual de la Comunidad de Madrid, Espanha 
Institut National Supérieur Des Arts Du Spectacule, 
IAD - Institut des Arts de Diffusion, Bélgica  
National Film School at IADT,